Sturminster Newton Town Council

Old Market Hill,
Sturminster Newton,
DT10 1FH
Opening Times
mon09:30 - 12:30
tue09:30 - 12:30
wed09:30 - 12:30
thu09:30 - 12:30
fri09:30 - 12:30


Sturminster Newton Town Council
Sturminster Newton Town Council exists to manage local facilities and services and to represent local people in decisions by government which affect them. The Council comprises eleven members all of whom are unpaid volunteers. Town Councillors are subject to re-election every four years. Elections are next due in May 2019. The work of the Councillors is supported by the paid staff employed by the Council and led by the Town Clerk.

The Council maintains an office in the town centre to act as both the main point of public access to services provided by the Council and as a “gateway” to as many other government services (central and local) as possible.

We welcome members of the public to contact us or visit us during our opening hours of 9.30am-12.30pm.

Among its many functions, the Town Council:

  • is consulted and invited to comment on every planning application made within the town
  • owns and manages the town’s Cemetery
  • owns and manages the Railway Gardens
  • owns and manages two Recreation Grounds and two other play areas
  • manages the public toilets at Station Road, Ricketts Lane and The Mill
  • provides a town centre street-cleaning and Town Orderly service
  • leases the local popular tourist attraction Sturminster Mill from the Hinton St. Mary Estate and supervises its management by Sturminster Newton Museum & Mill Society
  • maintains many footpaths, verges, amenity areas and other public open spaces around the town
  • has responsibility for the allotments at Filbridge Rise and kitchen garden plots behind Chinnocks
  • owns Butts Pond Local Nature Reserve and facilitates its management by the Open Spaces Group and the Dorset Countryside Rangers Service

Town Clerk:   Mrs Emma Lindsay

Tel: 01258 475136

Email: [email protected]

For more detailed information please click here for the Town Council website

Councillors Information

Councillor Steven Bevis, 28 Coles Close, Sturminster Newton DT10 1QT
28 Coles Close, Sturminster Newton
Tel. 472467

Councillor Jeremy (Nick) Dobson
Eaglehurst, Bath Road, Sturminster Newton DT10 1EA
Tel. 07768 445501

Cllr. Andrew Donaldson
Sequoia, Brinsley Close, STURMINSTER NEWTON, DT10 1AX
Tel: 01258 472392

Cllr. Charles G Fraser
Newton House, Newton  Sturminster Newton DT10 2DQ
Tel: 01258 472783

Cllr Martin Jones River House, Stalbridge Lane, Sturminster Newton DT10 2JQ  Tel: 01258 472497

Cllr. Mrs. Helen Lacey
Waterway Cottage, 2 the Row, Sturminster Newton DT10 1AX
Tel:  01258 473133

Cllr. Helen Reed
2 The Common, Broad Oak, Sturminster Newton DT10 2HD
Tel: 07900 261812

Cllr. Gerald (Joe) W Rose
13 Shortedge  Sturminster Newton DT10 1AD
Tel: 01258 472877  C471751

Cllr Robert Z Taylor
18 The Gavel, Sturminster Newton, DT10 1QX
Tel. 07775 473136


Old Market Hill, Sturminster Newton, Dorset, DT10 1FH


a:2:{i:0;s:17:”wheelchair access”;i:1;s:11:”public wifi”;}